About River of the Year:

For the past twenty years, the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) has annually recognized one river as the River of the Year. This recognition is done to raise awareness of the important recreational, ecological, and historical resources associated with the state’s rivers and streams.

The River of the Year is celebrated throughout the year. Events have included paddling trips, a speaker series, clean up days, photography contests, and more. Partnerships of community groups organize the events including a Sojourn paddling trip. In addition, POWR coordinates the production and distribution of a free poster celebrating the river.

The Pennsylvania Organization for Watersheds and Rivers, or POWR, administers the River of the Year program. Local organizations submit nominations. POWR also helps organize and support local watershed associations, as well as the groups who lead a dozen sojourns on rivers around the state each year.

Pennsylvania’s River of the Year honors have been presented annually since 1983.  The past feature Rivers of the Year are:

2020 – Lackawanna River

2019 – Clarion River

2018 – Loyalsock Creek

2017 – Allegheny River

2016 – North Branch Susquehanna River

2015 – Conewango Creek

2014 – Schuylkill River

2013 – Monongahela River

2012 – Stonycreek River

2011 – Delaware River

2010 – Lackawaxen River

2009 – Lower and Middle Susquehanna River

2008 – Youghiogheny River

2007 – Lehigh River

2006 – Three Rivers

2005 – West Branch Susquehanna River

2004 – North Branch Susquehanna River

2003 – French Creek

2002 – Delaware River

2001 – Juniata River

2000 – Kiskiminitas-Conemaugh River

1999 – Schuylkill River

1998 – Youghiogheny River

1997 – Lehigh River

1996 – Tulpehocken Creek

1996 – Clarion River

1995 – Upper Delaware

1995 – Juniata River

1994 – Allegheny River

1994 – Susquehanna River

1993 – Meshoppen Creek

1993 – North Branch and Main Stem Susquehanna River

1992 – Yellow Breeches Creek

1992 – West Branch Susquehanna River

1991 – North Branch Susquehanna River

1991 – Pine Creek

1990 – Catawissa Creek

1989 – Bear Run

1988 – West Branch Susquehanna River

1986 – North Branch Susquehanna River

1983 & 1984 – Clarion River

For more information contact Angela Vitkoski at avitkoski@pecpa.org.

8 Replies to “River of the Year”

  1. Richard Whittier says:

    I vote for the Ohio River as River of the Year.

  2. dorothy g. knapp says:

    It is time the Conewango gets the recognition it deserves!

  3. beverly says:

    I vote for the Lehigh river.

  4. Joseaph Fadden says:

    I vote for the Allegheny as river of the year

  5. Phyllis Brown says:

    I vote for the Brandywine as River of the Year.

  6. Theresa says:

    LoyalSock Won!

  7. D. E-Platt says:

    I vote for our beautiful Delaware River!

  8. Dale says:

    I grew up in Clarion and know very well how beautiful it is. It will also appear on a postage stamp this year!